Skip to main content

Mars Area High School

Mobile Menu Toggle
ACT, SAT & PSAT Information » PSAT


The "PSAT/NMSQT" or "Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test" is offered for students in Grades 10-11. The test is a multiple-choice standardized test composed of two sections: Mathematics and Critical Reading. Each section is scored on a scale of 20-80, which add up to a maximum composite score of 160 points. The sum of the two scores is known as the Selection Index, and is used, along with four general criteria for eligibility, for preliminary selection in the National Merit Scholarship Competition.

Important Dates/Information

For upcoming PSAT dates and other important information, visit

* All PSAT test dates are administered at 8 a.m. at Mars Area High School. Students should report as early as 7:30am and no later than 7:40am. 

* Students should bring at least two #2 pencils and a four function calculator.

* Test takers are typically done around 11:30am. 

Additional Assessments

CollegeBoard also offers the following additional PSAT assessments for students in 
Grades 8-10:

PSAT 8/9